The work to create the Indigenous Advisory and Monitoring Committee (IAMC) for the Trans Mountain Expansion (TMX) and existing pipeline began with a letter, in June 2016, from Chiefs Ernie Crey (Cheam) and Aaron Sumesheltza (Lower Nicola) to Prime Minister Trudeau and the Premiers of BC and Alberta. In response, the federal government asked Indigenous communities for their input on this idea. When the Prime Minister approved the TMX project, he announced his support for the co-development of a committee.

IAMC was co-developed over six months by the Working Group made up of representatives from the federal government, National Energy Board and Indigenous communities.

Kinder Morgan did not participate in the creation of the IAMC, nor do they fund this committee.

During the co-development process, two line-wide workshops and eight regional meetings were held, along with other meetings and teleconferences, to seek input from Indigenous representatives along the route on the Terms of Reference (TOR) and to enable them to select members for the IAMC.

There was substantial support for the TOR by Indigenous representatives along the TMX corridor and shipping lanes as the recommended draft to be presented to the federal government, and as a document that will continue to adapt and evolve.

Selection of Members of IAMC’s Indigenous Caucus took place at the Regional Meetings. Nominations were open until each nominee had an opportunity to speak. Some Members were voted in, others acclaimed. Where there was a vote, the ballots were tallied by independent consultants (and will be kept on file).

On July 17, 2017, the Honourable Jim Carr, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources and Peter Watson, Chair and CEO of the National Energy Board, approved the Terms of Reference and the establishment of the IAMC and the Secretariat to support it.